September 2008 crash

1 post / 0 new
CrazyLegs1424's picture
September 2008 crash

Well,  I spoke briefly about this in my introduction, but here is a larger run down of my incident.  I had been commuting the same road for over 3 years at this point, both in the my cage and on my bike.  Northern Cali is perfect for riding and May - early October you can ride almost everyday if you so desire.  This particular day, it was 96 degrees out with not one cloud in the sky.  That's hot when at a stand still, but great when riding along at highway speeds.

The stretch of highway I was riding was under construction, they were widening the roads and therefore it was down to just two lanes, one north and one south.  I am not an overly aggressive rider, so although it was slow, I never attempted to pass the slower traffic.  Passing one or two cars just doesn't seem worth the risk to me.  This part of the story becomes more important near the end.

At the end of this long stretch of highway, there is a traffic light.  This light is at the bottom of a small hill.  As always, I approach intersections a bit slower, so even though highway speed was 65, I approached at about 55.  As we came closer, I recognized the car moving into the Southbound left turn lane (I was headed North).  I continued to monitor the car which slowed almost to a stop, before it made an unexpected acceleration.  In this area, there are no blinking yellows or yields for your turn lanes.  You either have a green light or a red light.  When this car accelerated to make a u turn, I began to slow and cover the brakes, however I quickly figured out I would not be able to stop before the intersection.  I began to move to the right side of the road in order to clear the car, however the driver finally noticed me.